National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) President and CEO Debra Phillips issued the following statement upon the House passage of the 2022 CHIPS and Science Act:

“This comprehensive legislation represents a tremendous step forward for the American economy and our electrical manufacturing industry. This true bipartisan achievement is a long-term investment in American competitiveness that will invest billions in semiconductor manufacturing vital to the electroindustry and provide tens of billions of dollars to fund scientific research, spur innovation and develop critical 21st-century technologies here at home.”

“Semiconductors, and specifically certain legacy chips, play a crucial and often underappreciated role in the electrical products people and our manufacturing base depend on every day—from home and industrial lighting to traffic control systems to the manufacturing infrastructure that helps produce our cars, and yes, even semiconductors themselves.”

“Our members are facing extraordinary pressures from inflation and supply chain crises. This legislation is a critically important step toward building a strong domestic supply chain that will help bring down prices and alleviate pressures on companies and consumers all around the U.S.”

“NEMA would like to thank Congressional leaders and members from both parties for their hard work on bringing this legislation together and their role in creating an unprecedented opportunity for a domestic manufacturing renaissance. We look forward to President Biden signing this bill into law as soon as possible.”

About NEMA
The National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) represents nearly 325 electrical equipment and medical imaging manufacturers that make safe, reliable, and efficient products and systems. Our combined industries account for 370,000 American jobs in more than 6,100 facilities covering every state. These industries produce $130 billion in shipments and $38 billion in exports of electrical equipment and medical imaging technologies per year.

Provided courtesy of the National Electrical Manufacturers Association